top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Papalii

Lesson 4: Collecting personal imagery

Updated: May 12, 2020

I had taken the title of this project quite literally in that I was going to take a self-portrait. I realised upon viewing Anjuli’s approach that I didn’t need to be the model in the shot, but that another model or artefact could have been the representations.


So, with the idea of me being the model in my self-portrait I explored representative selfies or pictures of me on my phone. I had not thought of pictures as representations before; they just captured moments. However, investigating how photography might explore the discussion of self-portraiture, I began to see pictures differently. They were more than the moment it had captured. They communicated that the place, the pose, the people captured too, had meaningful representation. It is why we care to capture it.






175 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page