top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Papalii

Lesson 8: Post Production

At the beginning of this lesson I thought I had done this stage simultaneously when I was taking the shots as I was playing with different filters and lighting on my iPhone. I was happy with the initial shots and thought I didn’t need to edit. However, purely for the sake of learning I watched the links and appreciated how editing could really enhance the shot. Yes, you hear people say ‘oh, that shot was photo shopped’ but if you had never photo shopped before nor seen it done - one has no bearing as to how good a shot can become when edited. I became overwhelmed with the idea of having to edit via Photoshop - I was able to get a free 30 day trial but not knowing what each tool did, made me want to keep this part of the exercise simple. Thankful for google I typed in ‘photo editing iPhone’ and sure enough there was a tutorial on ‘How to edit photos on iPhone using the built-in photo apps’. This was perfect for me. The project was the first time I had actually entered the world of ‘photography’ on purpose. I appreciated that I already had much of the tools on my iPhone and could be creative in that sense of what appealed to my eye. The editing exercise literally allows you to be a ‘tutū’ (verb: to be stirred up, mischievous, rebellious, disrupt), used in the lighter sense of the word to ‘fiddle around with something’ and learn as you play. The exercise was therapeutic. I originally thought my photos were fine. Then when I began playing with exposure, highlighting, shadows, black points, saturation, definition, temperature etc. I began to see things I didn’t see before. In the coloured photos; the colours became vibrant and succulent. In the black and white photos I played with toning down the lighting to bring more of my face to life. Comparing the photos before and after was ‘buzzy’ because the edited version made me look at the same image but feel something different. I feel that’s a powerful experience to be able to create.



83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page