top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Papalii

Lesson 1: Introduction


I chose to do the self-portrait project as an activity to do during lock down. The words ‘self’ and ‘portrait’ were intimidating. They suggested I would be displaying just my face; an up close view. Growing up I had been insecure with how I looked. I was made to be ashamed of my bushy thick island hair, big eyes, nose and lips, simply because they were features not shared by many of my classmates nor the faces in the magazines. Yes, one grows and becomes more confident in their skin, in time, but admittedly the topic can still be confronting. Having had a lot of time to reflect about priorities and values during lock down I felt taking on the self-portrait project would be a milestone for me to no longer let those childhood hurts be wounds anymore. It was time to put a stake in the ground and say ‘I am who I am. This is me’ and love it. Lessssss go!







330 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page