top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Papalii

Lesson 9: Finalising and finishing up

Updated: May 12, 2020

A lot of time had lapsed since I had done the photo shoot and my photos had remained unedited. Procrastination favoured by my complacent view of editing and the initial reluctance to dive into something new.


Having to consider the final output of my work was interesting because at the beginning of the project I had not considered this. I was more caught up in the idea of actually putting myself in front of the camera but did not think about what I would actually do with the portrait.


Since the whole endeavour for me was about being brave and accepting who I was, what I looked like and wanting to communicate that I am more than what you see - the final product for me would be to print it, frame it and put it in my room.



I would never usually do this. I initially cringed at the idea. But I knew it would be another brave step to be proud of who I am and what I represent. If that means putting myself on display in a frame, then be brave I shall. This is me.



Note: It was so hard picking one image. Angles, proximity and colour all delivered different messages or themes. However, I picked my three top photos.

Image 1: Well it's the only one I am smiling in. I’m not too sure why I assumed the straight face in the other shots - maybe to focus on eyes? Or because most of the self-portraits I saw in my research were -smile-less.


This shot oozes joy. However, my smile somewhat takes away from the two reflections at the back and the theme of the shot; I am more than you see.


Image 2: Has FOCUS. I love the colours and I feel the eyes draw you in. It’s neutral but somewhat oozes strength. I feel the symmetry in the image makes the two reflections in the back significant and therefore embodies the theme more.





Image 3: The ANGLE demands strength. Ooze seems to be my key word here and I feel the angle of this shot oozes strength. I see pride in this shot like I’m wearing myself with honour. I wished the shot was more symmetrical to have the balance as the colour shot however, asymmetry is the more realistic me. Of the three images that best depicts me at this stage of my life it would be image 3.




53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page